Chronology of the Bahá'í Faith in Canada

Chronology home Canada 1860s 1870s 1890s 1900s 1910s 1920s
1930s 1940s 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s 2000s 2010s 2020s

Date 1944-04-21, descending sort earliest first

date event tags firsts
1944 Ridván Canada's tenth and eleventh spiritual assemblies formed in Charlottetown, PE and Regina, SK. [OBCC178, 180] Local Spiritual Assembly, formation; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; Regina, SK
1944 Ridván Completion of the Seven-Year Plan with 9 spiritual assemblies and 39 localities. (OBCC308] First Seven Year Plan; Statistics
1944 Ridván Those elected to serve the National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'ís of the United States and Canada were: George 0. Latimer (Chairman), Allen B. McDaniel (Vice), Horace Holley (Secretary), Louis G. Gregory (Recording Secretary), Roy C. Wilhelm (Treasurer), Dorothy Baker. Amelia E. Collins, Philip G. Sprague, Leroy loss. The Assembly appointed Siegfried Schopflocher to serve as the Treasurer of the Canadian Bahá'í Fund. [BN No 169 July 1944 p2]
  • Prior to 1944 delegates to the National Convention were chosen from local communities by proportional representation. [BN No 16 March 1927 p1 refers] After this point delegates no longer represented Local Assemblies but were chosen on a provincial (or state) basis. [MA70-71; OBCC157, 174n2]
  • In 1944 there were 35 delegates to the National Convention. iiiii
  • National Convention; National Spiritual Assembly, election of; Horace Holley; Louis G. Gregory; Roy C. Wilhelm; Dorothy Baker; Amelia Collins; Philip G. Sprague; Leroy Ioas; Siegfried Schopflocher; North America

    Try also a shorter date like 1944-04-2 or 1944-04

    try also the main Chronology — 1944-04-21 or 1944-04-2 or 1944-04

    Home Site Map Links Tags Chronology About Contact RSS